UOGamers Community

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• To obtain new Razor updates, please reinstall Razor from our new website.

A guide on Roleplaying; proper speech.

A guide on Roleplaying; proper speech.

This is my first attempt at a guide, so I'm sorry if it's a bit confusing or not fully up to par. Upon further request I will happily edit or update the guide. The guide is mostly made for newer players, but I'm sure it could help a lot of older players too. Feel free to add constructive critcism!

A Guide to Successfully Talking to Roleplayers

The Obvious Stuff: For players brand new to roleplaying:

The most blatant obvious thing to not do in rolepalying should jump out at anyone who’s participated in an intelligent conversation. Do not, I repeat, do not talk in “1337 speak”. T4lK1ng L1k3 th1z iz n0t g00d rp”
Another, thing I see far too often is real-life abbreviations. Though your character may “laugh out loud” he/she does not “lol”, go “AFK”, or “brb”. What would you think if someone needed to leave for a few moments and just said, “b r b”?
Regardless of what “teh pwner doods” may think, roleplayers do have good PvP, and characters do die. If you are unguilded a good idea would be to not loot the target… do you really need that 250 gold? If you however, must loot, take nothing other than regs, gold, or bandages. Nothing else. Also, make sure to resurrect the dead target. If you can not, tell him/her so they know for sure, but remember to stay in character. Don’t say ”sry, to low first-aid lol”. A more proper saying would simple be, “Sorry, friend, but I am not skilled enough to raise the dead.”

Basic Sentence examples:

Jim has just entered the room, this would be a bad example of roleplaying.

“Hey guys. What’s going on?”